Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J Maas

Throne of Glass series by Sarah J Maas. Published 2012- 2018 by Bloomsbury USA Children’s / Bloomsbury YA. CDN $10.39 each Kindle edition.

I waited until I read the entire series to do a review on these books.  The main reason is that I couldn’t put it down.  There is too much here to put the goodreads description for each book, so here it is for just the first one…

After serving out a year of hard labor in the salt mines of Endovier for her crimes, 18-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien is dragged before the Crown Prince. Prince Dorian offers her freedom on one condition: she must act as his champion in a competition to find a new royal assassin.

Her opponents are men-thieves and assassins and warriors from across the empire, each sponsored by a member of the king’s council. If she beats her opponents in a series of eliminations, she’ll serve the kingdom for four years and then be granted her freedom. Celaena finds her training sessions with the captain of the guard, Westfall, challenging and exhilarating. But she’s bored stiff by court life. Things get a little more interesting when the prince starts to show interest in her … but it’s the gruff Captain Westfall who seems to understand her best.

Then one of the other contestants turns up dead … quickly followed by another. Can Celaena figure out who the killer is before she becomes a victim? As the young assassin investigates, her search leads her to discover a greater destiny than she could possibly have imagined.  (goodreads exerpt)

I don’t even know where to begin.  This series was so amazing in so many ways.  It reminded me a little of the Poison Study books by Maria Snyder.  I am also a huge fan of Maria Snyder.  Sarah Maas is now on my favorite author lists!

The story telling is so amazing that I could not put these down.  I just kept downloading each book.  The world building is so intense and real.  I was jealous that she could immerse me so deeply into her story.  As a writer it amazed me and left me wanting more and more of this story.  7 books isn’t enough.

Celaena is the baddest, most intense, fearless, real character I have read in a while.  She is an 18 year old assassin with a destiny that will shock you. (no spoilers here)  She is not without flaws, she is vulnerable and hard and cunning, ruthless and relentless throughout the series.  She grows with each task, book, adventure, let down, sacrifice, set back and everything that gets thrown at her.  She will long be remembered in my heart as a true heroine.

I hate spoilers so suffice it to say this whole series is amazing from beginning to end.  All of the characters are amazing. Some you love, some you hate, some you even hate to love.  Each character is lined with depth and fullness, and intricately woven into the storyline.  Sarah is a master storyteller.  I can’t wait to read the next thing she puts out.

5 amazing stars for me.


2 responses to “Throne of Glass Series by Sarah J Maas

  1. I am working my way through this series right now – about to start book 6. They are so good! I can’t wait to see where this is all going!

  2. I’ve been trying to get all of the books so far I’ve read the prequel and the first but loved them from page one. I honestly can’t wait to read the rest and discover where Celeana Sardothian will end up next

I love comments so please feel free to leave one!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s